Barry Heape Begins Term as Chair of Georgia Credit Union League Board of Directors

Allie Jackson

Thursday, May 28th, 2015

Barry Heape began a two-year term as the chair of the Georgia Credit Union League board of directors on May 15 at the League's 81st annual meeting, which was part of the Georgia Credit Union Affiliates annual convention.

Heape is President and CEO of DOCO Credit Union based in Albany and has served on several League committees during his 30-year career.  

He was honored with the Moses C. Davis Professional of the Year award by Georgia Credit Union Affiliates in 2013. 

In addition to Heape, the League board includes Terry Hardy of MembersFirst Credit Union (1st Vice Chair), Brian Akin of North Georgia Credit Union (2nd Vice Chair), Stephen Smith of Fulton Teachers Credit Union (Treasurer), Tim Bridges of Associated Credit Union (Secretary), Pat Conn of United 1st Federal Credit Union, Janet Davis of Kinetic Credit Union, Kelly Garmon of Georgia's Own Credit Union, Jay Gratwick of Delta Community Credit Union, Chris Leggett of LGE Credit Union and John Rhea of Robins Federal Credit Union. 

At this year's Moses C. Davis Awards ceremony, Jerry Jordan of CGR Credit Union was recognized as the Professional of the Year while the Volunteers of the Year were Walter Brill (Delta Community Credit Union), Harold "Buz" Sawyer (Robins Federal Credit Union) and Robert J. Fox (Altamaha Federal Credit Union).

"I'm proud to be a part of the Georgia league," Heape said. "We all know credit unions are facing a lot of challenges, and I look forward to chairing this board of dedicated directors focused on helping credit unions contend with change as they help their members afford life."