Bethesda Academy Welcomes New Board of Governors

Staff Report From Savannah CEO

Thursday, October 5th, 2017

Bethesda Academy is pleased to welcome Brian Harlander, former president of fertilizer at the Gavilon Group; Leslie Littlejohn, community volunteer; and Linda Bleicken, president of the American Academic Leadership Institute and former president of Armstrong State University, to its board of governors.

These community leaders will serve three-year terms for the boarding and day school for boys in grades six through 12.

Donna Stafford, a retired teacher from Savannah Country Day School, has been named as the new Chair of the Women’s Board of Bethesda and will also join the Board of Governors in this capacity. She will serve a two-year term.

Cliff McCurry will serve his first year as Chair for the board. McCurry is Director of Business Development of Sterling Seacrest Partners.

“We are fortunate to have such a dedicated and experienced group of individuals serving on the Bethesda Board of Governors,” said McCurry. “These men and women are true community leaders with a commitment to advancing the school’s mission.”

Officers for the upcoming year are William T. Moore, vice chair; Quentin Marlin, secretary; Jim Trolinger, treasurer.

Returning board members include Ellen Bolch, J. Ryan Chandler, John C. Helmken, H. Michael Hughes, Diane Ingram, R. Kevin Jackson and Joe Marinelli.

“With Bethesda as a school for young men, the board of governors will focus their attention on key opportunities involving leadership, entrepreneurship and sustainability,” said Mike Hughes, Bethesda Academy president.

Bethesda Academy maintains its mission of preparing tomorrow’s leaders and entrepreneurs by inspiring young men to discover their academic, social and spiritual potential.