Georgia-Carolina Council, Boy Scouts of America Celebrates 100th Anniversary

Tuesday, March 30th, 2021

The Georgia-Carolina Council, Boy Scouts of America held its Centennial Gala and Council Recognition Banquet on March 26, 2021, with over 100 guests in attendance to celebrate 100 years of the Georgia-Carolina Council and Scouting in the CSRA. Numerous awards were presented including the Alumnus of the Year, Silver Beavers, and the council’s first ever Distinguished Eagle Scout Award.   
The evening started with 17 donors being recognized with the James E. West Award, which is given to those who donate $1,000 to the council endowment fund. This was followed by Scoutmaster and Venture Crew leader Julie Thornton being presented the Venturing Leadership Award.    
Robert Reeder and Dr. I. Lehr Brisbin were awarded the Outstanding Eagle Scout Award, for distinguished service to their profession and community on a local or regional level.  

Dr. John “Rick” Richards then received the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award - the first in the council’s 100-year history. Only Eagle Scouts who earned their Eagle Award at least 25 years ago are considered, and must have received national level recognition, fame or demonstrated eminence within their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service in their community are considered. Dr. Richards joins a select list of honorees such as President Gerald Ford, Steve Fossett, Dr. Robert Gates, Mike Rowe, and Neil Armstrong. Less than 2,000 Distinguished Eagle Scout awards have ever been presented.    

The Alumnus of the Year was awarded to Robert Bolton Jr. This award is presented to those whose work remind Scouting Alumni to maintain a lifetime relationship with Scouting.    

Dr. Steven Amster, who is also an Outstanding Eagle Scout, was presented the 2nd Century Society award for supporting the Georgia-Carolina Council with significant financial support in the past five years.    

The council presented local Scout leaders Ed Enoch and Darryl Furby with the Silver Beaver award, which is the highest recognition at the council level and is awarded to Scouters of exceptional character who have provided distinguished service within a council.    

Other awards presented were Commissioner of the Year to Matt Lindler, The President’s Award to Rich Baker, and the Fred C. Davidson Award to Randy Watson.    

For more information on Scouting programs in the CSRA, please visit or contact the Georgia-Carolina Council office at (706) 733-5277.