Historic Savannah Foundation's Preservation Awards

Staff Report From Savannah CEO

Monday, May 14th, 2018

At the Savannah Golf Club, Historic Savannah Foundation continued a month-long celebration of preservation with its annual Preservation Awards Luncheon. The nonprofit organization presented awards to individuals and organizations whose contributions demonstrate excellence in preservation in Savannah and Chatham County.

During the luncheon, generously sponsored by KEIM Mineral Coatings of Savannah, Inc., Historic Savannah Foundation recognized 14 projects and individuals including:

  • Nichola Parker Coe Volunteer of the Year

Monica Gann

  • Lee and Emma Adler Award for Advocacy

Nick Palumbo

  • 14-16 Price St.

Owner: Kim Malphrus

Architect: Jan de Voest

Contractor: Albee Contracting

  • 109 E. 35th Street

Owner: Patrick and Janice Shay

Architect: Patrick Shay, Gunn Meyerhoff Shay Architects

Contractor: Scotty Snipes

  • 1004 E. Park Avenue

Owner: Lonnie Coulter

Contractor: Wells Anderson Construction

  • 101 E. Oglethorpe Avenue

Owner: Ida and Sam George

Architect: Greg Tankersley and Ray Booth

Contractor: Jimmy Smith, JTVS Builders, Inc.

  • 660 E. Broughton Street (Kehoe Iron Works Rehabilitation)

Owner: Charles H. Morris

Architect: Lominack Kolman Smith Architects

Contractor: New South Construction

  • 420 E. Broughton Street (East End Provisions Rehabilitation)

Owner: Brian Husky, Gaslight Group LLC

Architect: Lominack Kolman Smith Architects

Contractor: Martin Zittrouer Construction

  • 12 W. Oglethorpe Avenue (Husk)

Owner: Michael Wakely

Architect: Neil Dawson

Contractor: Michael Wakely

  • 1601 Bull Street

Owner: Matthew Allan and Wells Anderson

Architect: Patrick Phelps, AIA, Hansen Architects

Contractor: Wells Anderson Construction

  • 4 8th Street, Tybee (Levy Beach Cottage Renovation)

Owner: Joan and Gary Levy

Architect: Brian K. Felder AIA, Felder & Associates

Contractor: Tony Reardon, Tony Reardon Construction Co.

  • 20 W. Taylor Street

Owner: Douglas G. Bain

Architect: Josh Ward, Ward Architecture + Preservation

Contractor: Stewart Dohrman, Dohrman Construction and Preservation

  • 317 W. 36th

Owner: Brad Baugh

Architect: John Kern, Kern & Co LLC

Contractor: Sam Carroll, Carroll Construction

  • Andy Dyer and Digging Savannah – Skidaway Island's Benedictine Monastery and Freedman School

Owner: Andy Dyer

Contractor: Laura Seifert, Digging Savanah

“Our organization is honored to present these businesses, individuals, and properties with preservation awards to commend their advancement of preservation in our community,” Historic Savannah Foundation President and CEO Daniel Carey said. “These award-winners truly represent Historic Savannah Foundation’s mission of saving buildings, places, and stories that define Savannah’s past, present, and future.”

Previous Preservation Award winners have included The Artillery, the Tybee Post Theater, and the Telfair Academy, among many others. Preservation Award nominations are judged on the following general criteria:

  • Quality and degree of difficulty of the nominee’s project

  • Degree to which the nominee’s project or effort is unusual or pioneering, or serves as an example that influences good preservation practices

  • Demonstrable or measurable impact of nominee’s project on the community