Historic Savannah Foundation Announces 2020 Preservation Award Winners

Staff Report

Friday, September 11th, 2020

Historic Savannah Foundation held a virtual event last night in celebration of its annual Preservation Awards. The nonprofit organization presented awards to individuals and organizations whose contributions demonstrate excellence in preservation in Savannah and Chatham County. 

This awards ceremony was launched online at 6 p.m. Thursday to an exclusive group of members and supporters of HSF. The event was recorded and is now available for viewing on HSF’s website, myhsf.org. The virtual presentation was produced by Tabitha Walker with Big Hair Productions. 

During the awards ceremony, Historic Savannah Foundation recognized eight projects and individuals, including: 

  • Nichola Parker Coe Volunteer of the Year winner Chris Hendricks 
  • Lee and Emma Adler Award for Advocacy winner Gary Radke
  • Restoration Project: 15 Meddin Drive 

Owner: Brent Watts

Architect: Josh Ward, Ward Architecture + Preservation 

Contractor: Anthony Koncul, JAK Homes 

  • Restoration Project: 219 East Charlton Street 

Owner: Elizabeth Shelton 

Architect: Jonathan Leonard, Sawyer Design Studio 

Contractor: Heath Shelton, E. H. Fortitude

  • Restoration Project: 245 Alfred Street

Owner: iHeart Media

Contractor: Scotty Snipes, SHC General Contractors 

  • Restoration Project: 322 East Broughton Street 

Owner: Andrew Jones 

Architect: David B. Kelley 

Contractor: Todd Mayo, Omega Construction

  • Restoration Project: 419 West 34th Street

Owner: City of Savannah  

Architect: John Clegg, Barnard Architects

Contractor: Savannah Construction & Preservation 

  • Restoration Project: West Broad Street

Owner: Flyway Development for Summerville Industrial Park, Inc. 

Architect: Christian Sottile, Sottile & Sottile

Contractor: Josh Brooks, Brooks Construction Group 

The Historic Savannah Foundation received 17 entries for these awards and are grateful for each submission received. 

“It is important to recognize the people who are trying to preserve the history and charm that the city of Savannah exhibits,” CEO and President Sue Adler said. “We cannot thank the members, staff, supporters, and sponsors of Historic Savannah Foundation enough for making this evening special.” 

Preservation Award nominations were judged by an independent, all-volunteer jury selected for their expertise in the realm of architecture, preservation and design. The jury used the following general criteria:

  • Quality and degree of difficulty of the nominee’s project 

  • Degree to which the nominee’s project or effort is unusual or pioneering, or serves as an example that influences good preservation practices 

  • Demonstrable or measurable impact of nominee’s project on the community

HSF's 2020 Preservation Awards are sponsored by Morris Multimedia, and sponsored in part by Bouhan Falligant, Brooks Construction Group, Chatham Orthopaedic Associates, Coastal Consulting Management Group, KEIM COLORS FOREVER, Queensborough National Bank & Trust Co., United Community Bank, Savannah Construction and Preservation, and Mingledorff’s, Inc. with additional support from HSF Annual Sponsors Staci Donegan - Seabolt Real Estate, Georgia Power, Kole Management Company, Merrill Lynch, Minis & Company, South State Wealth, Liza DiMarco at Cora Bett Realty, and Wet Willie’s Management Corp. HSF is grateful to its Media Sponsors Lesley Francis PR and Savannah Magazine.

To learn more about Historic Savannah Foundation, please visit www.myHSF.org.