2022 Tourism Awards Finalists Announced

Staff Report

Thursday, November 17th, 2022

We received so many amazing stories of wonderful individuals who make our tourism community great. It was very difficult to narrow it down to the top finalists in each category. Please keep scrolling to see if your nominee is a finalist!

A Word About the Selection Process

Each nomination is assigned a reference number. Then, any information that would allow a selection committee member to ascertain the identity or even the company where the nominee works is removed from all documents given to the committee.

This blind selection process means only the stories told and the quality of the nominee is taken into consideration during the selection process. Even at the conclusion of the process, the identities of the winners and finalists are not revealed to the committee. This email is the first time that even the selection committee is learning the identities of the individuals the committee selected.
All of us on the TLC team would like to extend our sincerest thanks to the Award and Scholarship Selection Committee for their tireless efforts. The committee work requires a large amount of reading, reviewing, and discussion, along with a significant time commitment.
On behalf of the Award and Scholarship Selection Committee, the Board of Directors, and the members of the Tourism Leadership Council, we are proud to announce the finalists below. We extend our warmest congratulations to all of the incredible nominees this year!

Best Front Desk / Concierge Employee

Amanda Marks, Thompson Savannah
Clarissa Antinora, The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa 
Shameka Jackson, Olde Harbour Inn

Best Valet / Bellman

Dele Afolabi, Hyatt Regency Savannah
Jon-Michael Green, The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
William Lambert, East Bay Inn

Best Tour Guide

Marty Barnes, Davenport House
Kathleen Moran, Kelly Tours
Scott Grafton, Kelly Tours

Best Support Staff

Herve Boniface "Boni" DaSylva, Homewood Suites Savannah Historic District/Riverfront
Leroy Brooks, Thompson Savannah
Polly Jones, Hyatt Regency Savannah
Ann Washington, Perry Lane Hotel

Best Server

Araceli Humire, DoubleTree Savannah Historic District
Casey McDonald, JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside District
Xeular Philpot, JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside District 

Best Housekeeper

Marie Nathan, Hyatt Regency Savannah
Ty'chelle Days, The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
Sebastian Siordia, Perry Lane Hotel

Service Leader

Nicole Whitt, Concord Hospitality
Dusty Church, Tybee Vacation Rentals
Elise Yarrison, Perry Lane Hotel 

Last Chance to Grab a Seat!

If you do not already have your table, half table, or seat reserved for our big event, time is running out! Reservations for the "Oscars of Tourism" will close Friday, December 2nd. Make sure you and your colleagues get a table ASAP! Click the button below to contact Ron Scalf, our Member Services & Sales Manager. 

 Reserve Your Table