City Leaders Enhance Skills through Institute Training at GMA Convention

Roger Nielsen

Friday, July 6th, 2018

Hundreds of city officials from across Georgia strengthened their knowledge of effective governance through continuing education courses that Institute of Government faculty and other experts presented during the recent Georgia Municipal Association Annual Convention.

The conference, held June 22–26 at the Savannah International Trade and Convention Center, featured nearly four dozen professional development courses for mayors, councilmembers and other city officials enrolled in the Harold F. Holtz Training Institute. Nine Institute of Government faculty members led 16 courses at the convention on topics ranging from capital improvements to public policy development and implementation.

Municipal officials who attended courses offered at the convention had the opportunity to fulfill certification requirements through the Holtz Institute. More than 120 officials were recognized at GMA’s annual training ceremony for earning certificates through the Holtz Institute, including 12 men and women who were awarded Certificates of Dedication awarded in recognition of successfully completing 276 hours of training.

The Georgia Municipal Clerks and Finance Officers Association’s annual conference was held the same weekend, also at the Savannah International Trade and Convention Center. The conference included nine professional development courses. Instructors included Institute faculty and adjunct faculty.

2018 Certificate Recipients

Certificate of Dedication (276 hours)

William “Pete” Bridges, Tallapoosa
Marc David Cohen, Sugar Hill
Mayme L. Asapansa-Dennis, Sandersville
Jamie  Doss, Rome
Willie King, Perry
Raymond Mullis, Eastman
Roslyn Palmer, Bainbridge
Milton Oliver Slack III, Rome
Annie Wanda Sutton, Cleveland
Jerry Sweat, Alma
Tiffany Walraven, Pembroke
Vince Williams, Union City

Certificate of Distinction (204 Hours)

Edwin O. Boyd, Metter
Ollie B. Clemons Jr., Austell
Samuel Davis, Douglasville
Randall Franks, Ringgold
Hugh “Bubba” Hodge, Darien
Robert Leverson, Fitzgerald Water, Light and Bond Commission
Bernita Lewis, Alma
Izell Bartow Mack, Wadley
Evie McNiece, Rome
Katherine Scott, McIntyre

Certificate of Excellence (120 Hours)

Elton Alexander, Stockbridge
Ed Barbee, Gray
John Blount, Stockbridge
Phillip A. Boyum, Statesboro
Juanita Bryant, Fort Valley
Prince Dawson, Eastman
Matt W. Donaldson, Twin City
Eric D. Griffin, Hazlehurst
Alex Heath III, Fairburn
Robert Leverson, Fitzgerald Water, Light and Bond Commission
Vicky Nelson, Hinesville
Tony L. Paulk, Douglas
Daisy S. Pray, Walthourville
Royce Reeves Sr., Cordele
Lewis Sims, Jackson
William Stankiewicz, Hogansville
Theresa Deisha Strickland, Hogansville
Jonathan Sumner, Hahira
Tim Thomas, Warner Robins
Sandra J. Tooley, Valdosta
Vincent T. Williams, Brunswick

Certificate of Achievement (72 Hours)

Alonzo J. Allen, Fort Valley
Edward Armijo, Centerville
Shirlene Armstrong, Jesup
Kathaleen Brewer, Fayetteville
Alfonza Brown, Winder
LeMario Brown, Fort Valley
Bruce Campbell, Garden City
Terry Carter, Toccoa
Rosetta Cody, Garden City
Marsha Colson, Metter
Ray M. Denmon, Calhoun
Sonja Fillingame, Union City
Sean Frantom, Augusta
Gail Fry, Toccoa
Roman Gaddis, Dahlonega
Teddy L. Harris, Rossville
Chris Gilbert Hodges, Madison
Douglas W. Jewell, Grantville
Pat Jones, Oakwood
David Earl Keith, Jesup
Cecil McDaniel, Barnesville
Gil McDougal, Villa Rica
Cindy McNeill, Douglas
Vivian Miller-Cody, Valdosta
Jacqueline Palazzolo, Calhoun
Earl H. Parris Jr., Summerville
Carrie Peters-Reid, Madison
Madison Porter, Oglethorpe
Steve Quinn, Jefferson
Richard S. Segal, Douglasville
Vesta B. Shephard, Cordele
Sundai Stevenson, Rome
Ahmad Thorpe, McIntyre
Albert Thurman, Powder Springs
Alex Tillman, Fitzgerald
Janeen Tokar, McRae-Helena
Donald M. Toms, Winder
Juanita F. Wilson, Americus

Certificate of Recognition (42 Hours)

Chris Addleton, Cairo
Ed Andrews, Royston
Patrick Bordelon, Powder Springs
Barbara Brooks, Gainesville
Jerome Alexander, Tennille
Keith Burchett, Commerce
Thomas Calloway, East Point
Jason Cobb, Eastman
Al Crace, Alma
Keith Dickerson, McDonough
Alfred Dixon, Jonesboro
Daryl R. Dowdell, Americus
Michelle Duquette, Clayton
Bill Durrence, Savannah
Wes Ehlers, Tifton
Ray Gibson, Fayetteville
Gregory Goolsby, Forsyth
Mike Gowen, Douglas
Janice L. Hall, Forsyth
Micheal R, Haney, Chickamauga
Fred F. Higgins, Hogansville
Tyson Jackson, Social Circle
Pat Jones, Oakwood
Robert Jones, Perry
Julie A. Livingston, Tybee Island
Elizabeth McLean, McRae-Helena
Evitte  Parrish,  Chickamauga
Dan  Ponder, Donalsonville
Bobby Redmon, Commerce
Matt Robbins, Tucker
Walter C. Rocker Jr., Eatonton
Bill C. Rosenfeld, Tucker
Catherine  Rowell, South Fulton
Debbie Ruiz, Garden City
Tammi Saddler-Jones, Smyrna
Nanette Saucier, East Point
Bunny Donna Scoggins, Williamson
Edwin Taylor, Douglas
Willie J. Taylor, Locust Grove
Joseph Thomas, McRae-Helena
Rickey D. Thomas, Pearson
Steve M. Tramell, West Point
Rhonda  Walker, Ashburn
Dennis  Williams,  Augusta
Tad Williamson, Pelham