Georgia Southern Hosts Annual Gratitude Gala Donor Awards, Celebrates Individual, Corporate Philanthropy

Staff Report From Savannah CEO

Thursday, March 5th, 2020

Georgia Southern University hosted its annual Gratitude Gala to recognize key donors for their longtime support of institutional initiatives. The event was held on Feb. 29 at the Mansion on Forsyth Park in Savannah. Awards were presented to the honorees, which included four individuals, one foundation and one corporation.

“The Gratitude Gala gives Georgia Southern an opportunity to recognize benevolent philanthropists who have forever changed the University,” stated Vice President of University Advancement Trip Addison. “We are honored to recognize alumni and friends of the University who have made it their priority to not only improve Georgia Southern but to also promote education. It is important that we show how grateful we are to all who have helped the University along the way.”

The 2020 recipients are:

2020 Legacy Award: Bruce and Kathryn Grube

From 1999 to 2009, Georgia Southern experienced exponential growth thanks to former Georgia Southern President Bruce Grube, Ph.D., and his wife Kathryn Grube. During Grube’s presidency, Georgia Southern became a Carnegie Doctoral/Research university and experienced record-breaking enrollment. Kathryn Grube was a fixture in Bulloch County as she volunteered in countless organizations and held numerous positions. Georgia Southern honors the Grubes for their deferred charitable commitment to the Honors Program, the Recreation Activity Center and multiple student leadership scholarships.

2020 President’s Ambassador Award: E.G. and Lynn Meybohm 

Both 1965 graduates of Georgia Southern, E.G. and Lynn Meybohm are devoted supporters of Georgia Southern athletics. An Athletics Hall of Fame inductee for both baseball and basketball, E.G. Meybohm led the Georgia Southern baseball team to capture their first NAIA National Championship in 1962. In 2019, the Meybohms generously supported the renovation of the W.S. Hanner Fieldhouse, a facility critical to Georgia Southern student-athletes. The fieldhouse is a state-of-the-art home for basketball and volleyball programs, the Biodynamics and Human Performance Center and University fans. Georgia Southern University honors the Meybohms for their unwavering support of University athletics. 

2020 President’s Innovator Award: Dot and John Mooney Foundation

Founded in 1977, the Dot and John Mooney Foundation is a nonprofit charitable extension of Willingway Hospital of Statesboro, Georgia, that specializes in the treatment of alcoholism and drug addiction. At Georgia Southern, this foundation supports over 40 students a semester as they master sobriety and their courses through the Center for Addiction Recovery within the Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health. Georgia Southern honors the Dot and John Mooney Foundation for its commitment to the well-being of our students and their futures. 

2020 President’s Visionary Award: Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation

Although Allen E. Paulson never attended Georgia Southern, he and his company, Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation, became one of the University’s biggest supporters in 1984 when a check was written to pay for the football stadium. Since then, Gulfstream has become an important ally turning their support to engineering students through scholarships, career development opportunities, internships and co-op programs. Over the years, Gulfstream has partnered with Armstrong State University as well, with both relationships having a vested interest in the development of Savannah area students. Georgia Southern honors the passion Gulfstream has for engineering, the University and the Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Computing.