Elan Technology Named Georgia Automotive Awards Innovator of the Year

Staff Report From Savannah CEO

Monday, October 30th, 2017

Governor Nathan Deal presented the State of Georgia's Georgia Automotive Awards Innovator of the Year award to Elan Technology. The Governor presented the award during a special ceremony at the State Capitol on October 24.

In accepting the award on behalf of the company, Terry McCormick, Chief Operating Officer at Elan Technology said, "Our company is truly honored to win this award. The Innovator of the Year award is a tribute to our company and our employees for their commitment to excellence and innovation."  

In announcing the Innovator of the Year award, the Georgia Department of Economic Development noted "Elan Technology always strives to provide their customers with the highest quality products by adhering to their quality management system, which focuses on continual improvement and emphasizes defect prevention and the reduction of variation and waste in the supply chain.  Elan has helped develop and evaluate glasses for the next generation of oxygen sensors in automobiles.  This improvement increased engine response time when transferring needed information to the emissions control system, allowing engines to effectively react and reduce emissions."

Elan Technology is a glass manufacturer that supplies the automotive industry with materials that can be used in a variety of applications. Many times, the glass materials used in automotive applications must be light, reliable and robust. Elan glass powders and preforms are found in a wide variety of components and sensors within the automotive industry.

According to the Georgia Department of Economic Development, the Georgia Automotive Awards are designed to recognize leaders throughout the state and honor them for the contributions they have made to build a robust automobile ecosystem. There are five categories for the Georgia Automotive Awards: Innovator of the Year, Georgia Automotive Company of the Year, Georgia Automotive Supplier of the Year, Randy Jackson Leader of the Year Award, and Community Impact Award. The Georgia Automotive Awards committee includes a cross-section of experts with a deep understanding of the automotive industry and the committee votes on the nominees.