Bryan County Administrator Named to Gov. Kemp's Advisory Committee

Staff Report From Savannah CEO

Wednesday, April 15th, 2020

On April 7, 2020, Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp created two committees to provide him with recommended actions to address issues and concerns stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic as they relate to city and county governments. One committee consists of 22 elected and appointed city leaders and the other consists of 18 elected and appointed county officials from around the state. 

Georgia is comprised of 159 counties. Bryan County Administrator Ben Taylor recently was notified that he had been chosen as one of only three county administrators appointed to the panel comprised of county officials.

The group had already held its first virtual meeting with ACCG President Billy Pittard, who chairs the committee. Weekly meetings will be held, with key recommendations being conveyed each week to Gov. Kemp. 

Taylor has been Bryan County’s administrator for nearly six years, having been hired in July 2014.

"I'm honored by the governor's appointment and will work hard alongside the other committee members to provide solid information and suggestions," Taylor said. "I'm proud of how the employees of Bryan County have responded to this public health crisis in order to protect our residents and support the community."

Governor Kemp has announced the extension of the shelter in place order, which will now remain in effect through April 30. Bryan County operations are continuing in “appointment only” mode for office staff, but all employees are working, either in the office or at home, to process online interactions and take phone calls or other tasks necessary to keep the county running. Some staffers have taken on roles beyond their normal duties, such as the procurement of personnel protective equipment.